19_web

ALEXANDER OCHS PRIVATE

Mari Otberg

Mari Otberg 2017-01-10T12:17:55+00:00

MARI OTBERG

homework done?

 

January 18 to March 17, 2017

After periods in London and Berlin, Mari Otberg today lives in Vienna. To paint, she often takes up lodgings in old castles in the Austrian Waldviertel (Forest Quarter). Otberg is a living synthesis of the arts, switching between various genres, techniques and worlds. She has worked as a successful fashion designer with her own label, designed wedding dresses and also designed packaging. She was a DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) scholar, but also ‘Newcomer Designer of the Year 2002’, distinguished by the magazine BUNTE. Otberg was born in 1969, studied fashion design in Bremen and Hamburg, undertook a drawing course at the Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design in London and learned the classic art of gold plating in Vienna. As an artist, she cannot be pigeonholed. Quite deliberately, the still ever-curious artist reveals herself to be an autodidact, seemingly ‘naive’ and far removed from the mainstream of contemporary art.

Otberg’s work, which is mostly painted onto wood panels in the manner of classical icon paintings, can be described as ‘pretty’. But underneath this beauty, she uses her painting to tackle unpretty and indeed difficult topics: sexuality, the world of work, partnership or even better: female sexuality, women’s world of work, ambivalence in partnerships, women as perpetrator and victim, between dominance and devotion.

Otberg paints housewives, killers, servants, madonnas… Behind the seemingly decorative surface of her technically masterfully painted, often small-format works, elementary feelings such as pain and love, as well as the banality of everyday life, reveal themselves. Her paintings, often created with distance yet with a knowing wink, and a mixture of humour and self-irony, serve as beacons of hope, according to Otberg.

The art of Mari Otberg as bearer of hope in an unmanageable world that has run off the rails. Homework Done? from January 18, 2017 at Schillerstrasse 15.

OPENING
Tuesday, September 17, 2017, 7 – 10 pm
The artist is present.

 

Due to very limited space a reservation is needed till January 12, 2017
to lochmann@alexanderochs-private.com or +49 (0)30 4508 6878.

19_web

ALEXANDER OCHS PRIVATE

Mari Otberg

Mari Otberg 2017-08-28T15:39:56+00:00

MARI OTBERG
homework done?

18. Januar bis 17. März 2017

Nach Stationen in London und Berlin lebt Mari Otberg heute in Wien, zum Malen mietet sie sich oft in alte Schlösser im österreichischen Waldviertel ein. Otberg, ein lebendes Gesamtkunstwerk changiert zwischen unterschiedlichen Genres, Techniken und Welten. Sie arbeitete als erfolgreiche Modedesignerin mit eigenem Label, entwarf Hochzeitskleider und gestaltete Verpackungen. Sie war DAAD Stipendiatin aber auch ‚Newcomer-Designer des Jahres 2002‘, ausgezeichnet von der Zeitschrift BUNTE. Otberg, 1969 geboren, studierte Modedesign in Bremen und Hamburg, nahm Zeichenkurse am ‚Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design‘ in London, erlernte die klassische Kunst des Vergoldens in Wien. Als Künstlerin passt sie in kein Raster, bewusst zeigt sich die immer neugierig gebliebene als Autodidaktin, als scheinbar ‚Naive‘ fernab des Mainstreams der zeitgenössischen Kunst.

Otbergs Arbeiten, meist in der Manier klassischer Ikonen-Malerei auf Holztafeln gemalt sind ‚schön‘. Unterhalb dieser Schönheit behandelt sie in ihrer Malerei unschöne, oft schwierige Themen: Sexualität, Arbeitswelt, Partnerschaft oder besser: Frauen-Sexualität, Arbeitswelt der Frauen, Ambivalenzen in Partnerschaften, die Frauen als Täter und Opfer, zwischen Dominanz und Devotion.

Otberg malt Hausfrauen, Killerinnen, Dienerinnen, Madonnen … hinter der scheinbar dekorativen Oberfläche ihrer technisch meisterhaft gemalten, oft kleinformatigen Werke zeigen sich elementare Gefühle wie Schmerz und Liebe ebenso wie die Banalitäten des Alltags. Gemälde, oft geschaffen mit augenzwinkernder Distanz und einer Mischung aus Humor und Selbstironie werden – so Otberg – zu Hoffnungsträgern.

Die Kunst Mari Otbergs als Hoffnungsträgerin in einer unüberschaubaren, aus den Fugen geratenen Welt. Homework Done ? ab 18. Januar 2017 in der Schillerstrasse 15.

ERÖFFNUNG

Dienstag, 17. Januar 2017, 19.00 bis 22.00 Uhr
Die Künstlerin ist anwesend.