19_web

ALEXANDER OCHS PRIVATE

Mirrors. Luzia Simons + Stefan Sehler

//Mirrors. Luzia Simons + Stefan Sehler
Mirrors. Luzia Simons + Stefan Sehler 2015-10-29T14:45:57+00:00

Mirrors. Luzia Simons + Stefan Sehler

 
Exhibitions like these often unintentionally bestow special stories on us. Born in 1909 in São Paulo as a descendant of the jewish familiy Marx in Trier Roberto Burle Marx came to Berlin with his parents in 1928/29. He performed in bars and at parties as a pianist and singer. In the botanic greenhouses in Berlin-Dahlem he discovered the ample domestic Brazilian flora. Remigrated to Brazil Marx studied painting and became a painter and landscape architect and worked together among others with Oskar Niemeyer and Le Corbusier. As a ‘gardener’ he stayed an autodidact – a circumstance, that made it easier for him to develop first gardens, for which he exclusively used Brazilian plants and particularly those which were not determined by any bonds of the relevant European garden architecture of his time.
After her first Amazon journey in 2012 Brazilian artist Luzia Simons, currently living in Berlin, betook herself on a second research trip to Brazil in 2014, where she visited gardens influenced by Marx which today still appear as an early act of critisism of globalization. Simons gathered from those numerous of different plants like Agave, Monstera, Begonia, the well-known german house plant Philodendron and Aloe Vera. Wonderful, partly stylized scanograms emerged. As Marx ‘painted’ the landscapes with his plants, Simons seems to draw with them. Dark-green coloured wonders of creation in front of deep black backgrounds, whose protecting glasses afford a further dimension of the view into profundity. Among the herein before described work group ‘Jardim’ you can also experience the ‘Blacklists’ in our presentation – small formats in which serially lined up plants are shown, that recall images of glassy showcases in museums of natural history.
Glass also plays a dominant role in the paintings of the artist Stefan Sehler, born 1958 and living in Berlin. He uses that side of the glass as picture carrier which is turned away from the beholder. Just like Simons devises a new kind of picture with the scanner, Sehler also reinvents the glass painting which is long-known since the first century Anno Domini by forgoing the light behind the application of the colour. Between concreteness and abstraction the painting as a visible medium dissolves. The newspaper ‘DIE WELT’ labeled his works ‘phantasmagorias’, because eyes and brain cannot grasp the levels of production. We see structures which are reminiscent of the surfaces of mars and moon or of complex constellations in celestial sphere. They are formations which visualize mountains grown out of clouds, but they are neither, or stylized plants in monochrome colours which appear three-dimensional and remind of old wallpapers.
Like Simons uses the computer for editing her pictorial templates, Sehler already avails of it while composing of his paintings. He develops digital patterns and transforms them into stencils which are glued on the reverse of the glass picture carrier. Into those stencils colour is being stroked, dripped and poured, the random course of the colours becomes a part of the concept.
Luzia Simons and  Stefan Sehler: we can promise a more than exciting encounter.

PRIVATE VIEW

06 Nov 2015

7 – 9 pm

The artists are present

 

for invited guests only

 

EXHIBITION

07 Nov – 18 Dec 2015

Tue – Fri 12 – 6 pm

+ by appointment

19_web

ALEXANDER OCHS PRIVATE

MIRRORS. LUZIA SIMONS + STEFAN SEHLER

//MIRRORS. LUZIA SIMONS + STEFAN SEHLER
MIRRORS. LUZIA SIMONS + STEFAN SEHLER 2016-01-08T16:36:54+00:00

MIRRORS. LUZIA SIMONS + STEFAN SEHLER

Ausstellungen wie diese schenken uns oft unbeabsichtigt Geschichten. Der 1909 in São Paulo, Brasilien, als Nachfahre der jüdischen Familie Marx aus Trier geborene Roberto Burle Marx kam mit seinen Eltern 1928/29 nach Berlin. Er trat als Pianist und Sänger in Bars und bei Partys auf, und entdeckte in den Botanischen Gewächshäusern in Berlin-Dahlem die üppige heimische brasilianische Flora. Nach Brasilien zurückgekehrt studierte er Malerei, wurde Maler und Landschaftsarchitekt, arbeitete unter anderen mit Oskar Niemeyer und Le Corbusier. Als Gartenbauer blieb er Autodidakt, eine Tatsache, die es ihm sicher erleichterte, erstmals Gärten zu entwickeln, für die er nur brasilianische Pflanzen benutzte, und die vor allem von keinerlei Anleihen aus der damals gültigen europäischen Gartenbauarchitektur bestimmt waren.
Die in Berlin lebende brasilianische Künstlerin Luzia Simons begab sich 2014 nach ihrer Amazonasreise im Jahr 2012 auf ihre zweite brasilianische Forschungsreise, und besuchte von Marx beeinflusste Gärten, die noch heute wie ein früher Akt globalisierungskritischen Handelns erscheinen. Simons entnahm ihnen zahlreiche Pflanzen wie die Agave, die Monstera, die Begonia, die gute alte deutsche Zimmerpflanze, den Philodendron oder die Aloe Vera. Wunderbare, in Teilen stark stilisierte Scannogramme entstanden. Wie Marx mit seinen Pflanzen großflächige ‚Gemälde‘ schuf, scheint Simons mit den ihren zu zeichnen. Dunkel-grünfarbige Wunder der Schöpfung vor tiefschwarzem Hintergrund, denen das sie schützende Glas eine weitere Dimension eines Blicks in die Tiefe verleiht. Neben Arbeiten aus der hier beschriebenen Werkgruppe ‚Jardim‘ erleben sie in unserer Präsentation auch die ‚Blacklists‘, kleine Formate, in denen seriell aufgereihte Pflanzen zu sehen sind und die an gläserne Schaukästen in Naturkundemuseen erinnern.
Glas spielt eine dominierende Rolle auch in der Malerei des 1958 geborenen, in Berlin lebenden Künstlers Stefan Sehler, der die vom Betrachter abgewandte Seite des Glases als Bildträger nutzt. Und wie Simons mit ihrem Scanner das Bild neu erfindet, erfindet Sehler die seit dem ersten Jahrhundert nach Christus bekannte Glasmalerei neu, denn er verzichtet auf das Licht hinter der dem Farbauftrag. Zwischen Gegenständlichkeit und Abstraktion löst sich die Malerei als sichtbares Medium auf, die Zeitung ‚DIE WELT‘ bezeichnete sie als ‚Trugbilder‘, denn Auge und Hirn begreifen die Ebenen der Bildherstellung nicht. Wir sehen Strukturen, die an Oberflächen von Mars und Mond oder an komplexe Sternebilder erinnern. Gebilde, die an aus Wolken wachsende Berge erinnern, aber keine sind, stilisierte Pflanzen in monochromen Farben, die dreidimensional erscheinen und so z.B. an alte Tapeten erinnern könnten.
Wie Simons den Computer bei der Bearbeitung ihrer Bildvorlagen nutzt, gebraucht ihn Sehler schon in der Komposition seiner Gemälde. Er entwickelt seine Entwürfe digital und setzt sie in Schablonen um, die rückseitig auf die gläsernen Bildträger geklebt werden. In diese wird die Farbe gestrichen, geträufelt und geschüttet; der zufällige Verlauf der Farben wird Teil des Konzepts.
Luzia Simons und Stefan Sehler: wir versprechen eine mehr als spannende Begegnung.

AUSSTELLUNG

07 Nov 2015 bis 28 Jan 2016

 

Di – Fr  12 – 18 Uhr

+ nach Vereinbarung