145

CURRENT EXHIBITION

BETTINA SCHOLZ – BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS

//BETTINA SCHOLZ – BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS
BETTINA SCHOLZ – BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS 2019-05-28T12:54:14+00:00

BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS

BETTINA SCHOLZ

WITH WORKS FROM: SVEN DRÜHL + HERMANN NITSCH + YVONNE ROEB + MICHA ULLMAN

26 APRIL TO 15 JUNE 2019

Opening hours: Wed – Fri: 1 – 6 pm, Sat: 11 am – 3 pm

Exhibition Opening: 25. April 2019, 7 to 9 pm

Bettina Scholz, born in 1979 and living in Berlin, is currently shown at the exhibition HYPER! – A JOURNEY INTO ART AND MUSIC exhibited in Hamburg’s Deichtorhallen. Between artistic positions of Isa Genzken, Andreas Gursky, Richard Prince, Albert Oehlen and many others Scholz presents three large-format works behind and on glass, which are based on soundtracks of different bands (and films?). Created in 2018, Queen (after F.G.) is inspired by Queens movie music to Flash Gordon. In an interview with the curator of the Hamburg exhibition Max Dax, the artist says: … she perfectly corresponds to the grandiose set design, the queer aesthetics of the film and the wonderful outer space. The sky in Flash Gordon looks like someone has poured ink into water.

In fact, many of Bettina Scholz colored works look like someone has poured ink into water. Their image carriers, which are counterfeited with a glass pane, are painted, printed, sprayed, collaged or even dipped in Chinese ink during the artistic process. The process does not follow art historical patterns and role models, but the perception of a moment, a recording and the transformation of an existing environment. The results are works that often appear dark and threatening due to their density and their presence, but which develop very differentiated in great beauty with the second glance.

Scholz’s presentation will be accompanied by sculptures by Yvonne Roeb and Sven Drühl, as well as ten and nineteen-year-old works by the ‘old masters’ Micha Ullman and Hermann Nitsch. While Micha Ullman shows gray-colored showers from the series ‘Tisch’ reminiscent of the Shabbat meal, Hermann Nitsch is represented by a large relic that was created in the context of the Orgies Mystery Theater. The Düsseldorf sculptor Yvonne Roeb and the Berlin artist Sven Drühl complement the BEAUTIFUL DISASTER with works created this year.

Artworks of the exhibition, Bettina Scholz:

Artworks of the current exhibition, References

145

AKTUELLE AUSSTELLUNG

BETTINA SCHOLZ – BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS

//BETTINA SCHOLZ – BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS
BETTINA SCHOLZ – BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS 2019-04-25T11:11:38+00:00

BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS

BETTINA SCHOLZ

MIT WERKEN VON:  SVEN DRÜHL + HERMANN NITSCH + YVONNE ROEB + MICHA ULLMAN

26. APRIL BIS 6. JUNI 2019

Öffnungszeiten: Mi– Fr, 13:00-18:00 Uhr und Sa, 11:00-15:00 Uhr

Vernissage: 25. April 2019, 19.00 bis 21.00 Uhr

Bettina Scholz, 1979 geborene und in Berlin lebende Künstlerin wird derzeit in der Ausstellung HYPER! – A JOURNEY INTO ART AND MUSIC in den Hamburger Deichtorhallen ausgestellt. Zwischen künstlerischen Positionen von Isa Genzken, Andreas Gursky, Richard Prince, Albert Oehlen und zahlreichen anderen präsentiert Scholz drei groß-formatige hinter und auf Glas gemalte Arbeiten, die sich an Soundtracks unterschiedlicher Bands orientieren. Das 2018 geschaffene Werk Queen (after F.G.) ist inspiriert von Queens Film-Musik zu Flash Gordon. In einem Interview mit dem Kurator der Hamburger Ausstellung Max Dax sagt die Künstlerin: … sie korrespondiert bestens mit dem grandiosen Set-Design, der queeren Ästhetik des Films und dem wunderbaren Weltraum. Der Himmel in Flash Gordon sieht so aus, als hätte jemand Tinte in Wasser gegossen.

Tatsächlich sehen viele der stark – farbigen Arbeiten von Bettina Scholz so aus, als hätte jemand Tinte ins Wasser gegossen. Ihre mit einer -in der Regel- gefärbten Glasscheibe gekonterten Bildträger werden im künstlerischen Prozess bemalt, bedruckt, besprüht, kollagiert oder auch mit chinesischer Tinte begossen. Der Prozess folgt keinen kunstgeschichtlichen Mustern und Vorbildern, sondern der Empfindung eines Augenblicks, eines Aufnehmens und der Transformation einer vorhandenen Umgebung. Es entstehen Arbeiten, die durch ihre Dichte und ihre Präsenz oftmals dunkel und bedrohlich erscheinen, sich mit dem zweiten Blick aber sehr differenziert in großer Schönheit entwickeln.

Korrespondiert wird Scholz Präsentation durch Skulpturen von Yvonne Roeb und Sven Drühl sowie von jeweils zehn und neunzehn Jahre alten Arbeiten der ‘alten Meister’ Micha Ullman und Hermann Nitsch. Während wir von Micha Ullman graufarbige Tuschen aus der Serie ‚Tisch‘ zeigen, die an das Shabbat-Mahl erinnern, ist Hermann Nitsch mit einem großen Relikt vertreten, das im Zusammenhang des Orgien Mysterien Theaters entstand. Die Düsseldorfer Bildhauerin Yvonne Roeb und der Berliner Künstler Sven Drühl ergänzen das BEAUTIFUL DISASTER mit in diesem Jahr entstandenen Arbeiten.

 

Werke der Ausstellung von Bettina Scholz: